A Quiet House

Bonnie and the kids left yesterday morning and I went back to my once-a-week volunteer work.  It was strange to come home to find only Rich and the cats!  Although it was busy with three little ones for the past 10 days, it was super sweet to have this time with them.  Ada’s voice is so cute saying “Help me, Gigi!” and “Where’s Pe-paw?”(we’re not sure where she came up with “Pe-paw” for “Grandpa,” but it’s pretty funny). She’s quite a talker at not quite 2 years old and major-ly adorable in every way.  Not that I am biased about my grandkids.  🙂   All three  loved Ajax, our cat, and wanted to hold him and pet him (and chase him if he didn’t cooperate with the holding and petting). Luke was so proud of himself for getting in the pool and working on his swimming; he is obsessed with superheroes and power rangers at this age and often wanted to pretend-play, asking me what color power ranger I want to be or what superhero I am.  I laid in bed with Emery a couple of nights and she told me, “I love chatting in bed!”  We had many interesting talks–she said she’s a princess and has a huge castle where all the guards are girls (no boys allowed) and “everyone is girls”  and it’s a dream come true.  I said it would be great to have all our dreams come true, and asked her what’s her dream for the future?  She said “to be the queen of the world and have all the powers.”   She also told me that she’s not getting married and doesn’t believe in true love or kissing.  I told her she might change her mind in the future, but if not, that’s cool, too.  🙂

(Local) granddaughter Elle is off to a week of camp. Sarah and Miles were a little concerned that she might be reluctant to stay, but no worries!  She was apparently all smiles and didn’t have any trouble saying goodbye on Saturday.

13718602_10208959142129697_1899870474462494663_n
Jack and Elle with her trunk for camp

Bonnie and I filled up the last couple of days of their visit. We took Emery, Luke and Ada downtown to Klyde Warren Park to run through the splashpad, climb on the playground and slurp up some snow-cones from one of the many food trucks lined up alongside.  It’s a great little park and kept the kids occupied for a good while before it got too hot.

Monday Beck was getting bored without big sister around, so he came over to join the cousins in the pool.  They had fun playing all afternoon while Bonnie took Ada in for a medical visit; later Sarah, Miles, and Jack came over for dinner with the rest of us. Rich made some delicious chicken marsala with asparagus on the side and we had a big ole time chatting and laughing about crazy family stories.  Don’t you just love those kind of nights?  I do!

13645215_10206824151818787_4086222259118500463_n
Beck, Luke and Emery

We were having such a good time talking that I didn’t get any more pictures of everyone,  which is probably a good thing. Sometimes I wonder if all this picture taking somehow distracts from being present for the actual goings-on.  I love having documentation of life’s moments but maybe we don’t need to have the camera (or these days, the phone) out all the time.

Meanwhile, between vacation and having grandkids here, we’ve really let the garden slide. Rich has been going by to water and to harvest but we haven’t weeded or cleaned up in weeks.  Not surprisingly, we received an email “gentle reminder” from the community garden board stating that our weeds were getting out of control and “fellow gardeners are becoming concerned.”  And that we needed to take care of it asap before we received a notice of noncompliance!  Oh, my.   While I enjoy being a rebel about some things, deep down I am quite a people-pleaser and I do not want anyone being upset with me.  It was pure torture to know that our very first season at the community garden (when we hoped to make friends and have everyone love us!) was becoming an epic fail.  It’s so hot right now that we couldn’t bear to go during the day but as soon as it started cooling off last night, we headed over and worked for an hour and a half cleaning up our plot.  Even in the evening, we were dripping sweat.  Thankfully, it looks almost good and just needs a little more sprucing up.  We pulled out a lot of dead plants and weeds but we are still getting a few tomatoes and our eggplants are flourishing.  Check out this purple beauty!

13775617_10206833407370170_5720730581703794189_n

We have 7 days left in our house before Sarah, Miles and crew move in.  In our ongoing first-world-problems-comedy-of-errors, we now have a washer and dryer still in boxes in the dining room and a half-put-together bed out in the apartment.  Our washer and dryer were delivered but the guys stated they couldn’t install them because our hoses were rusted to the faucets and they couldn’t get them off. We would need to call a plumber and have them removed before the installers could come back out. I was SO looking forward to having my own laundry facilities again, but off to the laundromat I went, and spent three precious hours of my time.  On the upside, the laundromat offers free dryers if you use their washers.  Nice!

A bed and dresser were delivered to the apartment; thankfully the delivery guys went to put the bed together because otherwise we would have discovered the problem later: the sides did not match up so the slats could not be laid down to hold the mattress. Seriously??  They called it in and we were told we’d get a new delivery on the 25th.  I am somewhat annoyed by this because I want to get the apartment set up for us to move in and now there are bed pieces all over the limited space.

AND for some reason AT&T does not think we deserve to have internet and TV in the apartment because we already have it in the house. That is a simplistic statement of a more convoluted problem but let’s just say I am getting the feeling that the universe is testing my patience this week.

Happy Wednesday!  How’s your week going?

2 thoughts on “A Quiet House”

  1. Well, as a matter of fact, my week is going pretty stunningly! I have a tremendous sense of accomplishment about what I have managed to get done, and fortunately, my self-worth has not been connected to having a clean house for a very long time, so even that has not put a damper on things. I might even have to join Em’s plans to take over the world–all for the greater good, you understand. It is just time for a change in the way we do business. 🙂 Happy Wednesday to you, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

