Mid August

We’re keeping busy even though the kids are gone!  Last week I went to see my new dentist, had a check-up and cleaning and, thankfully, liked everyone at the office.  I didn’t relish the idea of dentist shopping! One bad thing about retirement is dealing with all the issues associated with finding insurance on the marketplace (a blog post all its own one day); we currently have no dental insurance so it was all out of pocket.  Luckily I don’t need any dental treatment at the moment because the check-up, X-rays and cleaning were pricy enough.  🙂  But I’d been wanting a cleaning for a long time so I am happy I sucked it up and got it done.

I went to my volunteer work on Tuesday and again on Wednesday because we are short handed for client interviewers.  I am also being cross trained to be a “day coordinator,” the volunteer responsible for the day.  It’s not difficult but a little time consuming with paperwork.  I will then be able to fill in for coordinators who are absent for whatever reason.

Rich is becoming our yard-man and handyman, keeping the lawn mowed and shrubs trimmed and plants watered at home, plus doing the majority of the work at the garden.  The previous owners had left a little succulent garden planted in a bird feeder and it apparently toppled over a few nights ago (it was set in the ground a little lopsided so we are not sure if the kids’ dog accidentally knocked it over or it just lost its balance).  We salvaged the plants we could and then took a trip to the garden store to get some small ones to add to the mix.

Thursday I went to an acupuncturist to try some alternative treatment for my longstanding headaches.  I’d had acupuncture once before when we lived in AK and was having back pain; the acupuncturist was an itinerant who came out to our island to consult.  I wasn’t scared or worried about it but at one point he stuck a needle into my thigh and I thought I was going to come off the table!  It sent some sort of weird electrical shock throughout my body and hurt quite a bit. And did nothing for my back pain.  But yesterday was good, the doc was nice, if not very talkative, and the needles didn’t bother me at all.  It was actually very relaxing and I almost fell asleep a couple of times.  Then I laid on my stomach and he inserted more needles for the accompanying neck pain. I didn’t actually expect anything to happen the first time-and it didn’t-but he seemed to feel that things would improve with further treatment so I made another appointment for next week.

Susan, Corey and Ally came to town around 1 PM, ate lunch with us, hung out and chatted, Ally swam, we all went to get frozen yogurt and then they left to go to Gwen Stefani’s concert tonight. They were taking Ally as a surprise and she had no idea where they were heading.  I just saw a picture on Instagram and Susan said Ally was happy and excited. What fun!  We didn’t get to see Aidan because he went on a “guys’ trip” with his other Grandpa this weekend.

Sarah, Miles and kids should be home tomorrow. They are stopping in Amarillo at Bonnie’s and spending the night so the cousins should all have fun playing together.  I told Sarah I’d do her grocery shopping so she wouldn’t have to run out to the store as soon as she got home. Kinda nice having Mama around!  🙂

2 thoughts on “Mid August”

Leave a Reply

