Winter

We’re having a little cold snap in Dallas.  The heater is running tonight and we went by the garden earlier today to cover up our plants.  They’re not doing great–we are getting a lot of lettuce and chard, but the cabbage, broccoli and cauliflower look like they’re being eaten up by something…critters or insects, hard to know which.  And the carrots are barely growing so I am not sure if we’re going to end up with any or not.  It’s a little discouraging but we signed on for another year recently so we are hanging in there!

Most of our days are still being spent unpacking and trying to arrange the house, plus I am wasting a lot of time looking online at furniture, rugs, and decor. Sometimes it’s a chore to start fresh!  I can’t believe it’s taking so long!  I did take a break to watch Elle play indoor soccer today–my first time to see her with her new team. They are pretty hard-core for 8 year olds!  Oh, my goodness, some rough play was going on! They competed against an older team and came out on top–Elle scored a goal, so it was a good game all around.

Rich made us his world famous fish tacos tonight–we haven’t had them in a really long time and they sure were good.  Reminds us a lot of our time in Alaska.  🙂

I’m trying to get into the Christmas spirit–it’s a little bit hard with the house still in disarray and I haven’t even found my box of Christmas decorations yet.  I did put up my wreath made by my friend Tammy a few years ago (see above!), and Friday morning I ran out into the street in my pjs and my bedhead chasing after our sanitation guys to give them a little holiday gift card.  Isn’t it funny how you see yourself in your head one way and then realize you actually look like a crazed grandma?  Those poor guys probably didn’t know what was going on!

I’m still working on Christmas cards, and ran around to buy a few things for our gift exchange at my volunteer work, and a few that needed to be mailed (yes, they’ll probably be late, as usual! And I don’t even have the slow Alaskan island mail to blame any  more). OH, and I passed my background check to volunteer with the refugee agency so I am excited to get started!

It’s 2:22 AM and I should probably get some sleep!  Sweet dreams!

 

 

Leave a Reply

