Breakfast with Santa

We are striving to gift “experiences” rather than more toys that the grandkids don’t really need.  This year we bought the Dallas kids tickets to “Breakfast with Santa” at the Hotel Anatole downtown and today was the day!  First off I had a dream that I didn’t wake up till 8:35 and I was supposed to be at Sarah’s house by 8:25.  In my dream, I hung my head under the faucet in an attempt at a quick hair wash and tried to hurry up and get ready.  I hate those kind of dreams!  I woke up, looked at my phone, and it was only 5:30. Whew.  My alarm went off at 7 and I drifted for a few more minutes. At one point, Rich said “Don’t go back to sleep!”  I laughed and told him about the dream I’d had earlier, then I made myself get up and get ready.

I wasn’t sure what to expect (maybe a chaotic madhouse with a ton of kids running wild??) but the whole morning was quite lovely.  We checked in right away and were shown to our table, then worked our way through the buffet line full of yummy breakfast: egg casserole, potatoes, bacon and sausage, fresh fruit, cinnamon rolls, pancakes with all kinds of toppings, oatmeal with more toppings, and more.  Something for everyone and all of the kids found items they wanted to eat, plus orange and apple juice to drink.  The kids were also given gift bags with coloring books, crayons and a bell necklace to keep them occupied at the table. While we were eating, Santa, Mrs. Claus, and an elf made their way from table to table, chatting and taking pictures with the wide-eyed kids.  Jack has been scared of Santa so we didn’t know how he’d do, though he kept saying “Santa, Santa” in the car on the way to the event.  He watched Santa from afar and seemed to like him, waved at him a couple of times and repeated his name.  When Santa finally reached our table, Jack was a little leery but not too scared, gave the jolly old guy a high five, and posed with the rest of the family for photos. Success!  The kids got to slide down a slide for awhile and then Santa brought everyone to the front to read a Texas Christmas tale that was very cute.

Then it was time for a 10-station scavenger hunt, which was a big hit: decorate a gingerbread man, make an ornament, create a photo frame, get their faces painted, play “Santa Says” with the elf, fix themselves a cup of hot chocolate with marshmallows and other goodies, and so on.  They had a lot of fun and it was a wonderful morning.  So glad I got to have this experience with them!

3 thoughts on “Breakfast with Santa”

Leave a Reply

