Jam-packed!

Last night we had dinner at Sarah and Miles’, the kids swam and played, and Ally and Elle conspired to get Mom/Aunt Sarah to consent to letting Ally spend the night.  Aidan came home with us and we played games till bedtime.  This morning the girls got up and swam some more, then Elle had an appointment so I went to get Ally and Jack (Beck is at day camp all week).

The kids kept Jack amused, we all had lunch including Grandpa’s home made cookies (yum), then Aidan and Grandpa went to the movies while Ally and I stayed home with Jack, who needed a nap.  While he was asleep, Ally and I played a long game of Rack-o and she watched a little TV, then we drove Jack home after he woke up.

Rich made spaghetti for dinner and the kids swam.  I reminded Aidan about his Kahn Academy math work and his reading for the public library summer challenge, which made Ally interested in both.  After showers, they both read books and did some math problems before bed.  Ally was really into it and asked to go to the library tomorrow to pick up some more chapter books. That does my heart good.

We are having girls’ day tomorrow since the guys got to do something today.  We are picking up Elle in the morning and going to see Despicable Me 3 because it’s the only kids’ movie playing and Ally hasn’t seen it yet.  I wasn’t that crazy about it the first time but I guess I am seeing it again, and Elle is going for the second time so she can see it with Ally.  🙂  Elle has a tennis lesson, so after we take her home we will go to the library and look for some books on our list that we made tonight.

I have a little bit of a scratchy throat–sure hope I am not coming down with something!

2 thoughts on “Jam-packed!”

  1. I just adore that you take these kids to the library! That is one of the strongest memories of my childhood in Seymour, going to the library once a week in the summer to check out another book. I had always read my book within 2 days, so it was a long spell looking for something to read before the next trip rolled around. Mother finally convinced the librarian to let me check out several books. The library was a small room under the staircase in the old courthouse–just a perfect little reading room.

    Like

    1. Love that! And can totally relate, being a fast reader myself and having to wait till the next trip as a kid. So weird to think before we could read anything on the internet or download books at any time of day or night, we actually had to wait till the library was open or till someone would drive us there. I can just picture the little room under the staircase! Funny, I was planning to write a little about my library memories on the next post so I will not add more here. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

