Movie, Library, Book Store, Swim

As promised, Ally and I picked Elle up a little after 11 AM and set out for the movie theater to see “Despicable Me 3.”  The girls enjoyed it and I think I might have dozed off a couple of times. LOL

After the movie we drove to the library to get some books.  This brought up many happy memories of my own times spent in libraries as a kid. When we lived on an Air Force base in Germany, our family regularly went to the library after church every Sunday to check out our books for the week.  I can remember walking up and down the rows in the kids’ section, seeing so many titles or cover art that caught my eye and having a hard time narrowing it down to decide which ones to check out.  I can still picture myself with a huge stack of books in my arms and my mom telling me to “put some back for next time!”

My mom loved to read and we inherited old Bobbsey Twins and Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books from my grandparents; we read books of poetry and fairy tales, biographies and story books; my mom had us recite poems to her and write our own stories.  The headboard on my parents’ bed contained a bookcase,  full of interesting volumes that I was not yet old enough to browse (except for The Lives of the Saints, which I did get to read cover to cover).  I would sometimes nap or rest in their bed, staring at all of the titles and wondering what the books were about.  Funny, I can still remember some of them, this many years later:  Profiles in Courage, PT109 (They were Catholics and thus JFK fans), one called Below the Salt, (I always wondered what that meant…now I know), and some James Bond novels.  🙂 We also had a huge set of encyclopedia, which I loved looking through and was grateful to have when I was older and had to write reports for school.  But going to the library and finding something new and different was always such a joy.

When my own girls were young, we often went to the downtown library to find books to bring home, even though we had more books than we knew what to do with.  I loved passing that tradition along to them and they all loved books when they were little, being read to before they could read and then reading on their own. We were also premium members of the Overdue Club.  I am not sure why we could never seem to return our books on time but we were always in arrears.  🙂   Once they started school and began using the library there, alas, our trips to the public library slowed down quite a bit.

Needless to say, I feel that libraries are so important for all of us but especially for people who cannot afford to buy books of their own.  These days libraries also provide computer services and classes and free lunches for kids and after school activities and more. I even read about librarians in Philadelphia who are trained to administer Narcan because so many people are overdosing on opioids on their grounds or even inside the library itself. Now that is probably something they never imagined they’d have to do when they were studying library science.  And here in Dallas, people who are homeless are welcomed into the central library instead of being treated as a nuisance. As a former social worker,  I was happy to see that some libraries are now employing social workers to assist patrons who may need services beyond the library’s offerings.  Libraries have been on the forefront of meeting the challenges of a changing society.  I hope they will always be with us.

Back to our day!

We found a couple of books that Ally wanted and looked around the library a bit.  Both girls were searching for a graphic novel which was not available so we decided to stop in at Half Price Books.  Unfortunately, they did not have the particular book that Elle was looking for, either, so our next stop was Barnes and Noble, which (of course) has everything imaginable and both girls were allowed to find one book for Gigi to buy.  By then we were all parched so we got smoothies and iced tea from the Starbucks inside.

Back to our house afterwards, where the girls swam for an hour till Sarah came to get Elle.   These cousins are so cute and I enjoyed listening to them talk about the books they are reading, school starting back up, friends, things they like to do.  What a fun day we had!

4 thoughts on “Movie, Library, Book Store, Swim”

  1. So wonderful! I loved the essay on library functions, too. Particularly in small and rural towns, a library is such an important service. One of my friends who plays music stopped in the office Thursday and she had just come from playing at the library’s end of year celebration–filled with kids.

    Like

  2. Oh, I forgot, too–your comment about the books you were not old enough to read yet reminded me. Mother had books as she loved to read also. There were several in the bookcase, and one day I was bored and picked up one and started reading it. She came in and told me that was not a good book for me as I was not old enough. I dutifully put it back, and then a few years later, read it without her knowing. 🙂 She was right though–it was actually quite beyond me as a 13 year old. It was pretty mild by today’s standards though.

    Like

    1. I remember sneaking a peek at some of Mom’s, too, but they were either “boring” or way over my head till later! And yes, mild by today’s standards. I also recall babysitting for people who had a bunch of paperback romance novels at their house and I would look for the juicy parts before I really understood what the juicy parts meant. LOL And, again, very mild compared to today. Bosoms heaving and breathless kissing and an occasional ripped bodice. I wasn’t sure what a heaving bosom or a ripped bodice meant. haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

